With six different permission levels, you can share your folders and workbooks with anyone and control their level of access.
Spreadsheet.com is designed for collaborative work. With six different permission levels, you can share your folders and documents with anyone and control their level of access. Invite users to edit, view, manage, or own your folders.
Users can be given access to individual documents instead of the whole folder. In these cases, document users will still see the folder to which the document belongs on their home page, but they will only see the specific documents they have access to in that folder.
Folders can be shared with any number of people you work with. Users with Editor, Commenter, and Viewer permissions are free in Spreadsheet.com, so you don't need to worry about how many people you share with.
If you invite someone to a folder as a licensed user and they are not already a licensed user in your workspace, your workspace will be charged a prorated fee for new licenses. Learn more about licensed and unlicensed users in our article “Workspace Management”.
When you share a folder with another user, they can access everything in that folder up to their assigned folder permission level. If you want to limit someone's access to specific items within a folder, you must share those items individually with the user rather than sharing the whole folder.
How to Share Folders
To share a folder with other Spreadsheet.com users,
- Open the Workspaces sidebar and navigate to the folder you want to share
- Hover over the folder name and click the three-dot icon to the right of it
- Select "Share..." from the dropdown to open the Share folder dialog
Use the Share folder dialog to invite new users and manage permissions for existing users, including revoking their access to your folder entirely.
Use the fields at the top of the dialog to invite other Spreadsheet.com users via email, include a message that will be included with their invitation email, and select the permission level with which they will join your folder.
If you invite collaborators who do not already have a Spreadsheet.com account, they will be prompted to register for an account when they click the invitation link. Invited users with Spreadsheet.com accounts will immediately see your folder in their Workspaces sidebar.
At the bottom of the Share folder dialog is a list of all users who currently have access to your folder. Change their permission level by adjusting the dropdown field to the right of their name, or click the x icon to the right of the permission dropdown to remove them from your folder entirely.
Only users with Owner or Manager access can remove other users or change their permission levels.
Folder users cannot be assigned a lower permission level in any document within a folder than their folder permission level. However, they can be assigned a higher level of access for particular documents within the folder.
Folder Permission Levels
When you share a folder with other Spreadsheet.com users, you can choose the permission level with which they join the folder. Users with folder permissions inherit that same permission level for all documents in that folder, unless they have otherwise been granted a higher permission level for a document in that folder.
|Owner ✨||Full control to manage and share the folder, including the ability to move and delete|
|Manager ✨||Full control to manage and share the folder, but cannot move or delete|
|Collaborator ✨||Share documents in the folder, but cannot make changes to the folder|
|Editor||Cannot make changes to the folder|
|Commenter||Cannot make changes to the folder|
Cannot make changes to the folder
Owners, Managers, and Collaborators are licensed users.
Folder users have permissions that only apply to that folder, so if you move a document out of your folder, then folder users will no longer have access to the moved document, unless they also have access to its new folder. Similarly, moving a document into a folder will grant all folder users access to that document.