Renaming, Copying, or Deleting Views

  • Updated

Manage your existing views by renaming, copying, or deleting them.

As you construct new views, you may wish to replicate a view, rename a view, or delete it.  For example, if a new team member named Rich replaces Sara on your project, you might wish to reassign some tasks and rename the view from "Sara's tasks" to "Rich's tasks". Or, you might want to create a new view similar to another one, but with different sort or filter customizations. 

If you are in your workbook's primary view, the Rename view and Delete view actions will be greyed out. See below for information on how to rename the primary view or create a new worksheet. 

How to Access Rename, Copy, and Delete Options

You can access the renamecopy, and delete options by clicking on the three-dot icon in the view toolbar.

MoreOptions-2.jpg

Or, you can access these options from the views selector by clicking on the three-dot icon to the right of the sheet name.

MoreOptions-1.jpg

Renaming a View

You can rename your view via the two options described above, or by double clicking the view name in the view toolbar.

RenameView.gif

Copying a View

Copying a view will duplicate the current view. It will automatically be created with the same name as the existing view and the word "copy" appended. Views can only be copied inside the same worksheet, as different worksheets can have significantly different data.

Worksheets and workbooks can be copied to replicate a view for another project.

Deleting a View

Deleting a view cannot be undone. If you need to hide a view from other users that have access to your workbook but want to retain the view for your own purposes, considers adjusting the view permissions instead. You can make a view visible to only you, effectively deleting it from others unless you restore it later.

Restrictions on the Primary View

Every new worksheet includes a primary view. The primary view cannot be renamed or deleted. When accessing renaming, copying, or deleting options for the primary view, the rename and delete options will be greyed out.

By default, the primary view inherits its name from the name of the worksheet. To change the name of the primary view, you must change the name of the worksheet.

Similarly, to delete a primary view, you must delete the view's worksheet. Before deleting a worksheet, make sure that there is no data in it that you need to retain. You may want to copy a worksheet before deleting it and treat it as a backup version.

Primary views can be copied, but the copied view does not become the primary view.

Once you've got the right configurations for your new view, you can begin customizing it. Check out our articles on Filtering and View Visibility and Sorting and Row Order for more insight into customizing your view.