Sharing a folder with another user grants them access to all of the documents in that folder at a specified permission level.
When you share documents with other Spreadsheet.com users, you can choose to grant them access to entire folders of documents, or individual documents like workbooks, Reports, and Dashboards. In either scenario, you can choose the permission level with which new users join.
When you share a folder, invited users can access every document in that folder at the permission level you specify. If you grant a user access to an individual document at a higher permission level, it will supersede their folder-level permission level.
Folders can be shared with other Spreadsheet.com users individually by email. Documents can also be shared with other users by email, as well as with a sharing link and through public sharing and embedding.
Folders can be shared with any number of other users.
How to Share a Document or Folder
To share a Spreadsheet.com document or folder,
- In your Workspaces sidebar, navigate to the document or folder you want to share
- Click the three-dot icon to the right of the document or folder name and select "Share..." from the dropdown
- In the Share dialog, select the method by which you want to share your document or folder
You can also access the Share dialog when you’re in a document by clicking the pink Share button in the upper right corner.
When you share a folder with other Spreadsheet.com users, you can choose the permission level with which they join the folder. Users with folder permissions inherit that same permission level for all documents in that folder, unless they have otherwise been granted a higher permission level for a document in that folder.
|Owner ✨||Full control to manage and share the folder, including the ability to move and delete|
|Manager ✨||Full control to manage and share the folder, but cannot move or delete|
|Collaborator ✨||Share documents in the folder, but cannot make changes to the folder|
|Editor||Cannot make changes to the folder|
|Commenter||Cannot make changes to the folder|
|Viewer||Cannot make changes to the folder|
Owners, Managers, and Collaborators are licensed users.
Folder users have permissions that only apply to that folder, so if you move a document out of your folder, then folder users will no longer have access to the moved document, unless they also have access to its new folder. Similarly, moving a document into a folder will grant all folder users access to that document.
If you invite someone to a folder as a licensed user and they are not already a licensed user in your workspace, your workspace will be charged a prorated fee for new licenses. Learn more about licensed and unlicensed users in our article “Workspace Management”.
More Resources: Sharing and Collaboration
Spreadsheet.com’s sharing and collaboration features help you work with your team more efficiently and effectively, no matter how big or small. Learn more with these resources:
- “Sharing Documents” – Learn how to share individual documents like workbooks, Reports, and Dashboards with other Spreadsheet.com users
- “Publicly Sharing and Embedding Documents” – Learn how to easily share your data with anyone, even if they don’t have a Spreadsheet.com account
- “Channels and Messages” – Learn how to collaborate with other team members in your Spreadsheet.com workbooks