Locking Views

  • Updated

With view locking, you can control certain views so other users cannot change the filters, sorts, hidden columns, and other aspects of the view configuration. When a view is locked, other users who are not Owners of the workbook still can open the filters, sorts, hide columns, and other view configuration dialogs, but they cannot make changes.

To lock a view

You can lock a view simply by clicking the Lock this view button in the view toolbar, or from the view’s context menu.

LockThisView

Clicking the "Lock this view" button will ask you to confirm your decision.

mceclip0.png

With a locked view, users who are not owners will not be able to make changes. For instance, in the animation below we try to change this view's filters and sorts and are greeted with a message that the view has been locked by Crystal.